My Choices

I have pinned them to my face
Everybody sees these

Everybody doesn’t care
Some do
And some froth jealousy from their teeth

My choices paint my skin different colours
You can photocopy them if you’d like

We can print them out
Read them together
Stick them to our gums

Some days I am blinded by them
They give me scars that turn me to waste
But I’m sure to recycle the memory into something new

They are papers of my life
Stitches of my body’s ex-wounds

I understand them
They understand me

Beyond their text
They turn me into vapour

And I knowingly rain on them
From time to time
My choices are my friends

They are the shade of me
And if I touch you, you’ll turn the colour of them too.

Leave a Reply

