I Drink To Forget

I drink to forget that I was just like you.
I rolled in the mud,
I grew up with stars for light.
My heart that shrivelled seed.
You rummaged around inside of me.
I drink to forget that I have been forged and sold and tattooed by the night on his hands,
On my face his kisses still burn me,
I drink to forget other women will be me.
I drink to forget the lies that have snaked their way up my throat and slithered off my tongue like liquid poison.

I drink to forget that I have married an impossibility,
Where my veins carry blood they whisper heartache,
It flows to every inch of my scalded skin
My fingertips quivering at that loss
Tears and smiles,
I drink to forget them,
To forget my old self,
Free and intact,
Held together by a steel ribbon.
How a force greater than me loosened my knots
And tossed me into the oceans of his boundless words
That charm bloodied me
And I smiled.

I drink to forget my body
And the coast washing me up on the shores of this bar counter.
I drink to forget my lips,
Two velvet doors ever opened to meet his.
I drink to forget the millions that succumb to honey as sweet as this
That eyes will sail in the golden of his stare
That you will love him ever more,
Bleeding rain as he hacks out your heart
I drink to forget my empty chest
And the old words of a boy who merely bet on the touch of my skin.

Leave a Reply

