I Literally Live in Flip Flops

Maybe its because I’ve got Africa running through my veins,
But I want summer to stick to me like caramel.
I literally live in flip flops,
The sand’s scooped under my feet,

I’m holding the sea in my hands,
And I wave at the boats.
I’ve got daisies in my eyes, can you tell they’re more yellow?
Maybe its because I’ve got Africa running through my veins,

Dad says Algeria only rains when forced.
Does God whip the clouds to work harder?
I don’t know, but I like the trees there
And the smells of rotisserie chicken.

Is it sweat or the sea,
Is it dark skin yet,
I’m living in flip flops and island water
The turquoise is almost hallucinatory.

Sweetgrass, dunes as high as heaven,
Towels studded in sand grains
The summer’s dried on my copper skin.
And I’m caramel.

Leave a Reply

