Lover’s Clot

Dark tunnels, street light vessels,
Small footsteps leading to your heart.
But it’s not there.
Sometimes I traverse my arteries,
Just to run with the blood-waves,
And tie up sticky heartstrings,
Torchlight in my hand,
Checking up my tough walls,
Knocking the atriums, no answer,
Till the clot finds me,
And nothing’s moving on.
Dark tunnels, street light vessels,
Small footsteps leading to your heart.
But it’s not there.
My lover’s clot houses a cloy crag,
Amongst the tissues of lost kisses,
And hardened pictures of smiles,
Rubble of the shared food, 20 ciders
And spilled laughter, 7 octaves lower
Nowadays.
Sometimes I wish I hadn’t gone
Checking up my ventricles.
Dark tunnels, street light vessels,
Small footsteps leading to your heart.
But it’s not there.
And when I see you,
All my atria starts to shake, earthquakes make the plaster crumble,
And suddenly my heart is consumed to my stomach, then back up,
Like yo-yos, up and down at your word, and you hold the strings,
Dark tunnels, street light vessels,
Small footsteps leading to your heart.
But it’s not there.
And then I let the clot fester another day.
Leave a Reply

